Halong Bay Overview

Halong Bay, in the Gulf of Tonkin, includes some 1,600 islands and islets, forming a spectacular seascape of limestone pillars. Because of their precipitous nature, most of the islands are uninhabited and unaffected by a human presence. The site's outstanding scenic beauty is complemented by its great biological interest.

Halong Bay was first listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1994, in recognition of its outstanding, universal aesthetic value. In 2000 the World Heritage Committee additionally recognized Halong Bay for its outstanding geological and geomorphological value, and its World Heritage Listing was updated.

In October 2011, World Monuments Fund included the bay on the 2012 World Monuments Watch, citing tourism pressures and associated development as threats to the site that must be addressed. The goal of Watch-listing is to promote strategies of responsible heritage-driven development for a sustainable future.

In 2012, New 7 Wonders Foundation officially named Halong Bay as one of New Seven Natural Wonders of the world. Halong Bay is also a member of the Club of the Most Beautiful Bays of the World.



Distance to Hanoi airport (HAN)           : 160 km
Distance to nearest bus stop                 : 5 km
Distance to nearest shopping center   : 1 km
Distance to nearest ATM or bank         : 1 km
Distance to nearest hospital                  : 5 km
Distance to beach                                    : 1 km


Quick Reservation